14 Things We Wish We Would Have Had Before Moving Into Our First Apartment

230945_10151229611774169_1964064372_nAs newlyweds, I guess we were pretty clueless. I mean, who just assumes that there will be all the commodities of living just sitting there waiting for you when you move into your unfurnished apartment? We did. I blame the the stress of getting married, driving 18 hours back to Washington State, and looking for a place to live all in one week, but as my husband would say, excuses are like belly buttons. Everyone has them, and nobody cares. So, on the off chance that someone else might be headed in the same boat we were, I have taken the time to compile a list of things that we wish we would have had before moving into our first apartment.

1. Garbage cans

Apparently, we were under the assumption that they grow in apartments.

2. Toilet Paper

Don’t worry, we went to the store as soon as that one was apparent.

3. A Wok

They are SUPER versatile, and hold a large amount of food. If I had to choose one pan to cook with for the rest of my life, this would be it.

4. Paper Towels/washcloths

They serve as napkins, dishcloths, and even plates if you need them to.

5. Broom and Dustpan

Who knows when the last time that floor was swept, and if you don’t yet have a table, indoor picnics are a lot nicer when done on a clean floor.

6. Hand/Dish soap

Self explanatory

7. Air Freshener

Weird odors linger for months after the previous tenant.

8. Shower Curtain

Otherwise you will be forced to take a bath in a tub that hasn’t been cleaned for a while. *Shudder* I would recommend buying one like this off of Amazon, it’s thick, durable, and super easy to clean. It’s a bit pricier than a dollar store one or one you may find at Walmart, but it’s totally worth it.

9. Ice Cube Trays

They are not included with a freezer.

10. Numbers for local Take-Out

You’ll thank me for this one.

11. Cleaner

Whether it’s vinegar, baking soda, and Dawn or Clorox wipes, this is a must.

12. Laundry Detergent

Nope, this doesn’t come with the washer and dryer. You can buy one, or save money like I did by making my own. It’s super easy (I found this recipe on Life Could Be A Dream).

13. Hangers

Few things take away my steam that I work up to do laundry more than finding out that I have no hangers. The laundry may just sit for a couple days in the basket before I get the energy to try again.  Here in WA, they have some great thick hangers at Fred Meyers for a fairly good price.

14. Camera

To document it all!

Anyone have anything they’d like to add? What do You wish you had before moving into your first apartment/house?

Leave a Reply

