Wacky Wednesday: Chocolate Covered Strawberries

There is a book that the boys that I nanny love to read. It’s called Wacky Wednesday by Dr. Seuss, and it’s about this boy who wakes up on a Wednesday and really crazy things are going on.  That book has inspired me to write about wacky (or just outright embarrassing!) things that have happened to me, and I’ll post one each Wednesday.
The April before Sean and I got married, a wedding expo was being held in Olympia, not too far from where I live. I decided to go see what ideas I could gather there for my own wedding, and tried to recruit someone to be my sidekick, but since everyone was busy I went alone. I didn’t have the slightest clue what one is supposed to wear to those events, but I knew there was going to be a dinner served, so I put on a casual dress, did my hair and make-up nice, and headed out. Upon arriving at the clubhouse, I graciously accepted my door prize and entered my ticket into the raffle, feeling lucky. I also felt overdressed. Looking around, I was the only ones besides the staff who wasn’t wearing jeans. I didn’t care though, because I looked good.

Dinner was served out of silver platters and consisted of prime rib, potatoes, asparagus, some sort of soup and bread, and chocolate covered strawberries for dessert. I sat at a table of about eight women, and we all became great friends while discussing our weddings. I remembered my manners all through dinner, but was surprised when everyone started cutting their chocolate covered strawberries. That just seemed like overkill to me, so I tried to start a trend by just biting it. The strawberries were fantastic! Ripe and sweet, I was glad that I had gotten three instead of the two I had originally wanted. They were bigger than I anticipated, so I took each one in two bites. Just as I was finishing up, they started the raffle. I joked with the women at my table while names were called out, puzzled by the odd looks I was getting during our conversation. I was attempting to get the mirror out of my goodie bag when my name was called– I had won an amount of money toward jewelry!

I went up to receive my award, smiling appreciatively  as everyone clapped and stared at me. I noticed that people looked at me longer than necessary as I accepted my prize, and several eyes followed me to my seat, but I attributed it to my super cute leather boots that Sean had bought me for Christmas one year. I continued to smile coyly at those staring at me for the rest of the event, feeling flattered. When I got to my car, I was feeling pretty confident about myself as I waved good bye and smiled grandly to a few of the girls I had met that night. I breathed a sigh of relief as I was finally was
able to look in the mirror to see just what about my great looks made so many people stare. As I pulled the rearview mirror toward me in the parked car, my eyes grew wide. Instead of the new beauty that I had imagined, I saw chocolate like a four-year-old’s lipstick tracing my lips. It outlined more than just my lips, though, extending from just below my nose and wrapping around to my chin. All I could do was laugh. I couldn’t believe that the ladies I had been conversing with didn’t say anything! I called my sister so that I could laugh at it with someone to keep from crying. I had gone up in front of more than fifty people with a lovely brown shade smothering my lips. And to think that I thought it was my beauty that stunned people. Oh, I can’t even imagine what they were thinking….

Leave a Reply

